Twyg Sustainable Fashion Awards

Twyg Sustainable Fashion Awards
Leandi Mulder’s latest collection Notes to nature. Photographer: Matt Bouch

The fourth annual Twyg Sustainable Fashion Awards has extended its entry deadline. Local designers who implement sustainable, circular and regenerative approaches to their designs now have until 14 October 2022 to submit entries.

The awards, specifically dedicated to sustainability in fashion, are the evidence that sustainability matters. “It shows the importance of it not only to a wider audience, but also to the young creative/entrepreneurs who, we hope, will therefore be inspired to create responsibly,” says Mimma Viglezio, a creative consultant and editor based in London who is serving as one of this year’s judges.

Her advice to 2022 entrants: “Find your own voice, offer something that has meaning beyond just being a garment or an accessory. The world does not need more stuff, it needs fashion that is sustainable, intelligent and beautiful.” 

Esethu Cenga, CEO at Rewoven, an innovative business that upcycles and recycles textile waste says that one of the difficult things the clothing industry is facing today when it comes to sustainability is “greenwashing”. “There is a lack of accountability when it comes to the claims brands make about their sustainability efforts,” she says. “Awards like these are important to celebrate those brands that are not greenwashing and are actually making genuine efforts to practise sustainability.

A genuine interest and care in sustainability and in protecting our social and ecological systems will always show in the end-product.  My encouragement to this year’s entrants would be to focus more on understanding sustainability in and of itself as opposed to only doing it because it is a value proposition for clients.  I think that will help in presenting something authentic and it also prevents one from greenwashing.’’

A local jewellery designer and previous winner of these awards is Ashley Heather of AuTerra Jewellery, based in Cape Town. Her advice to this year’s entrants: “Take your time with the application and really reflect on the questions. Not only is it important for the application itself but it is also a valuable exercise in thinking through your business and where you have opportunities to tweak or improve your current operational model to be more sustainable.”

The Twyg jury for 2022 Sustainable Fashion Awards are: 

Nisha Kanabar –  A curator, storyteller, and the founder of Industrie Africa. From Tanzania, Kanabar graduated from Parsons School of Design in New York and went on to forge a career in luxury fashion and publishing. With over a decade of experience, she has held formative positions in the editorial and commercial departments of American Vogue, Vogue India, and in the Middle East (now Vogue Arabia).

Mimma Viglezio – A Swiss creative consultant, writer, editor, and broadcaster. She has extensive years of experience at Hill & Knowlton working primarily for Bulgari, as an External Relations Director for womenswear and eventually a Corporate Communications Executive Director. She also worked as a Communications Director at Louis Vuitton and she was Editor in Chief of LULA Magazine, then Editor in Chief of SHOWstudio, and, until recently, Editor in Chief of Tomorrow London Digital.

Esethu Cenga – Co-Founder and CEO at Rewoven and the Co-Founder and Director at Future of Fashion. Esethu was part of the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation and was curious about value creation and creative problem solving, particularly given the many socio-economic problems South Africa, and Africa at large face. Esethu has been driven to create a meaningful impact through the start-up Rewoven that she co-founded alongside Tshepo Bhengu and Lonwabo Mgoduso in 2017.

Omoyemi Akerele – A former magazine editor with multiple degrees in law, who has established the biannual Lagos Fashion Week and the fashion business development agency, Style House Files, to create opportunities for African designers by spearheading initiatives that promote the advancement of designers and the evolving ecosystem. 

Dr. Sipho Mbatha – A Senior Lecturer and Head of the Department for Design Studies at the Faculty of Arts and Design, Tshwane University of Technology. He has a D-Tech in Fashion Design and he is an editorial board member of the Journal of Science, Technology, Public Policy and a reviewer for the African Journal of Science, Technology, Innovation, and Development. 

Fabia Pryor – The Brand Sustainability Manager at Country Road with extensive experience working for organisations around the world, championing good business. She is a recognised sustainability strategist, spokesperson, and international educator. 

Sharon Armstrong – For over two decades, Sharon Armstrong’s astute styling has graced the pages of a range of publications such as Elle, Glamour, and Marie Claire. She has collaborated with numerous luxury brands including Dolce & Gabbana, Chanel, and Louis Vuitton. She is currently the Fashion Director for Wanted, Sunday Times Lifestyle, and Sowetan S Mag. Sharon edits the fashion magazine, The Edit.

The categories for 2022:

  • Student Award
  • Accessory Award
  • Innovative Design and Materials Award
  • Trans-seasonal Award
  • Nicholas Coutts Award
  • Retail Award
  • Influencer Award
  • CMT and Manufacturer Award 
  • Textile Makers and Mills Award 
  • Changemaker Award presented by Country Road (This category is not open to entrants)


Country Road will be awarding a prize of R100 000.00 for the Changemaker winner. The winner of the Nicholas Coutts Award receives R10 000 from Nicholas’ family, and all category winners receive an assessment from Eco Standard South Africa.

How to enter:

Simply fill in the required details for your chosen category on the Twyg entry form (formulated in collaboration with Eco Standard South Africa):

Once you’ve completed your form send it to

Winners will be announced on 17 November 2022 at an event at the Mount Nelson hotel.  For more information visit or email 

Looking for more design inspiration? Sign up to our weekly newsletter, here.