Winners: 2018 Corobrik SAIA Architectural Awards


WORDS Lindi Brownell Meiring IMAGES courtesy of Corobrik SAIA Architectural Awards

The winners of the 2018 Corobrik SAIA Architectural Awards have been announced.

After creating a shortlist from 61 regional winners, six projects received Awards of Excellence, 24 Awards of Merit and five received commendations. Judges included SAIA President Maryke Cronje, Corobrik Commercial Director Musa Shangase, VISI’s Editor-in-Chief Sumien Brink, academic Professor Paul Kotze and architect, urban designer and Director of DesignSpaceAfrica, Dr Luyanda Mpahlwa.

The six Awards of Excellence winners included the research project publication NZASM Footsteps Along The Tracks, written by Nicholas J Clarke & Roger C Fisher, assisted by Siphiwe Simelane. Below, in no particular order, are the five buildings and structures that received top honours.

New Residence (as featured on page 60 of the latest issue of VISI)

Location: Constantia, Cape Town

Architects: Malan Vorster Architecture

Image credit: Adam Letch

Image credit: Adam Letch


Image credit: Adam Letch

The Johannesburg Holocaust and Genocide Centre

Location: Forest Town, Johannesburg

Architects: Lewis Levin Architects

The Lake House

Location: Midlands, KwaZulu-Natal

Architects: Koop Design


Location: Sandton, Johannesburg

Architects: Paragon Architects

The Delville Wood Memorial

Location: Longueval, France

Architects: The Creative Axis Architects and Mayat Hart Architects

To view 2015/2016’s winners, click here. For more information, visit